Yuvaraja college Untitled Document

to Top


History Faculty gallery
History of the Department

The department of Kannada in Yuvaraja’s college was established in the year 1928- the year the college started functioning.  The department catered to the needs of the students of the intermediate course only during  the first 20 years, since, the college to begin with,  introduced the two - year Intermediate course in Arts and Science.  From the year 1948, when the college was upgraded to a first Grade College, Kannada has been taught in the I and II year B.Sc., classes.
The Department of Kannada has made invaluable contribution to the glory of Yuvaraja’s college.  It boasts of having illustrious personalities as its alumni.  They include,

  1. Prof. M.Gopalakrishna Adiga, a well-known Kannada Poet.
  2. Prof. K.S.Narasimha Swamy, a popular Kannada poet.
  3. Sri Subramanya Raje Urs,  “Chaduranga”,an eminent Kannada novelist and renowned litterateur.
  4. Prof. Seetharamaiah, a prominent litterateur, and
  5. Dr.Anupama Niranajan, a Kannada writer, who is also a doctor of medicine.

The greatness and glory of the department have been further enhanced by the following  teachers, par excellence, who served the department:

  1. Jnanapeeth award winner, Dr.K.V.Puttappa who was popularly known as ‘Kuvempu’ and who later adorned the seat of the Vice-chancellor of the University of Mysore.
  2. Prof. T.N.Srikantaiah (‘Tee Nam Sri’)
  3. Prof. T.S.Venkannaiah
  4. Prof. G.Hanumantha Rao
  5. Prof. D.L.Narasimhachar
  6. Prof. Anantha Rangachar
  7. Prof. T.S.Shama Rao

              Prof.S.K.Ramanna of the department served as the Principal of the college during    1981-84.
  Prof. S  Narayana Setty (SUJANA) also served as principal of the college during    1985 and 1990 and also as the Registrar of Mysore University.
                        Reference books and Journals in Kannada are made available to the students and teachers    in the U.G library which is well-stocked.


Untitled Document