Yuvaraja college Untitled Document

to Top


History Faculty Gallery
History of the Department

Yuvaraja's College started functioning in the year 1927. Initially only two year intermediate course was offered with optional subjects like Botany, Zoology and Chemistry. From 1948 onwards 3-year degree course was started.  In 1987, the University of Mysore, with the idea of diversification introduced new courses and among them Microbiology is one of them.

Microbiology course was introduced as one of the optional subjects at B.Sc. level at Yuvaraja’s College during the academic year 1989-90 with Biochemistry and Botany as other two optional subjects. The section of Microbiology was attached to Department of Botany till 2006. From the academic year 2006-07, Microbiology section has been functioning as separate Department.

The Department of Microbiology is having three permanent staff and three guest faculty. Dr. S. Mahadeva Murthy, Associate Professor in Microbiology is having 21 years of teaching and research experience in the field of Mycology, Aquatic Microbiology, Agricultural Microbiology, Medical Microbiology and Herbal drug discovery. The other teachers like Dr. H.S. Jayanth is having 24 years of teaching experience and seven years of research experience in the field of Bacteriology, Food safety and Sanitation, and Industrial Microbiology. Dr. P.K. Maheshwar is having 12 years of teaching experience and specialization in the field of Mycotoxicology, Bacteriology, Medical Microbiology and Molecular Biology.

Restructuring of syllabus has been done once in three years at the National level.  Senior faculty Dr. Mahadeva Murthy is the Chairman of BOS and BOE (UG) in Microbiology in University of Mysore, Yuvaraja’s College and other University / Colleges. Dr. Jayanth is a member of BOS and BOE in Microbiology (UG) and Dr. Maheshwar is a member of BOS and BOE (UG) in Microbiology among University and other Institutes. The department is well equipped with infrastructural facilities for teaching and research in basic and applied areas of Microbiology.

Department of Microbiology has been recognized as a research center in University of Mysore and at present, Dr. S. Mahadeva Murthy and Dr. P.K. Maheshwar are the recognized guides. Under the guidance of Dr. S. Mahadeva Murthy four students have been awarded for Ph.D. degree and 11 students for M. Phil. degree. Currently six students are working for the degree of Ph.D. He has successfully completed two major research projects and one minor research project sanctioned by UGC and MHRD, New Delhi. Dr. P.K. Maheshwar is having a major research project from UGC. There is a full-fledged Microbiology laboratory. About 250 books on various aspects of Microbiology are made available at Under Graduate Library in the college campus.  

The teaching staff is highly qualified and has to its credit scientific publications in National and International reputed journals. The thrust areas of research in the department include Aquatic Microbiology, Agricultural Microbiology, Medical Microbiology, Mycotoxicology and Molecular Biology. The Department of Microbiology is planning to start consultancy services to public in the areas of Municipal water treatment, Plant disease diagnostics and Biofertilizers for agriculture.


Untitled Document